Diocese of Paterson, NJ



What the Bishops Say About Health Care Reform

Current Child Protection
Training Schedule

[click link above]

Confidentially file a report of ethical misconduct here

Catholic Charities
Clothing Donation Drop Boxes

Your gently used clothing, bedding, shoes, and small household items would be greatly appreciated
Click Here for information

Rite of Election

Annual celebration held at St. John Cathedral on First Sunday of Lent


Bishop Serratelli formerly selected - or elected - catechumens from around the diocese, who will receive the sacraments of initiation at the Easter Vigil, at the diocese's annual Rite of Election held on the First Sunday of Lent, March 1 at St. John's Cathedral, Paterson.

These catechumens have been participating in their parish's Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA), the Church's official process by which new members are prepared for the sacraments of initiation.

The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults portrays initiation as one event comprised of three sacraments, Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist.

On the First Sunday of Lent, Bishop Serratelli elected the candidates who will celebrate the sacraments of Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist at the Easter Vigil. The Rite of Election belongs to the diocesan bishop because his presence makes a full manifestation of the Church. This ritual event, marked by the solemnity and the presence of the bishop, inserts the catechumens into the broader experience of Church.

At the end of the Rite, the bishop dismissed the newly elected to go back to their parish communities to reflect more deeply on the Word of God with the assurances of the prayers of the diocesan Church, which eagerly awaits the day when they will share fully in the Lord's Table.

Following are the catechumens by their parish - whose names were provided to the diocesan Office of Evangelization - who came before Bishop Serratelli in the cathedral and were elected and the parish where they are part of the RCIA program.


Annunciation of the B. V. M., Wayne
Caitlyn Brooke O'Malley

Assumption, Morristown
Laura Grossberger

Blessed Kateri Tekakwitha, Sparta
Jason Lynar
Nancy Wisby

Christ the King, New Vernon
Samantha D. Anderson
James H. Caldwell
John G. Furness
Kimberly D. Smith

Corpus Christi, Chatham Township
Jeffrey Knight
Skye Michael Verrusio

Immaculate Conception, Franklin
Jessica Carroll
Michael Heller
Keith Roloson

Jesus Christ Prince of Peace Chapel, Haledon
Ciarra Gousse
Soko Rogers
Jasmine Burroughs
Amanda Sales

Our Lady of Good Counsel, Pompton Plains
Nathalie Rebecca Koren

Our Lady of the Mountain, Long Valley
Vong Bui
Amanda Trimmer
Dorene Van Houten

Our Lady of the Valley,Wayne
Dominic Slockbower

Our Lady of Lourdes, Paterson
Silvia Elena Garcia

Our Lady of Victories, Paterson
Silvia Aldama
Helen Calero
Hariana Kiera Castro
Kimberly Jucos
Jonathan Martinez
Heidy Santana
Wilkin Santana
Jazmin Travezano

Sacred Heart, Dover
Maria Casta–eda
Juliette Alexandra Gomez
John Perez
Elizabeth Gomez

St Andrew, Clifton
Timothy Sean O'Mara

St. Ann, Parsippany
Lindsay Rado

St. Anthony, Hawthorne
Anita Nyambura Muthee
David Anthony Rios

St. Anthony of Padua, Passaic
Francisco Gardinet
Frank L. Flores
Edgar J. Flores
Brandon Hernandez
Marbel DeMoya
Brenda M. Mercedes
Kevin Mendoza
Pamela Quezada
Andrew Rodriguez
Alicia Rodriguez
Kevin N. Santos
Victor A. Sierra
Victor H. Sierra
Victor M. Sierra
Robert Siri
Daniel Siri
Yalimar Castillo
Dayana Guzman
Kiara DeMoya


St. Cecilia, Rockaway
Andree Kimbrough
Daniel Kronmiller
Daniel Louis Grefels

St. Clement, Dover
Krystal Reilly

St. Francis of Assisi, Haskell
Michelle Sterzel

St Gerard, Paterson
Vanessa Williams
Carolyn Preziuso

St. John the Baptist Cathedral, Paterson
Jennifer Toledo
Lusinette Acevedo
Roberto German Saravia
Gabriela Montano A.
Genesis Ariana Rojas

St. Joseph, Newton
Robert Huizing

St. Joseph, Paterson
Nelson Alvarado Jr.
Julia Ramos
Juan Jose Santiago
Reina Ascencio

St. Luke, Long Valley
Lori Mulrooney
Jessica Simber

St. Margaret of Scotland, Morristown
Abel Sanchez
Yellin Hernandez
Jessica Laguna
Kathy Inestroza
Soany Mendez
Alex Ramirez
Karen Rachael Vigil
Tamara Mu–oz
Marielly Mu–oz
Magdiel Pazx

St. Mary, Help of Christians, Paterson
Mayra Martinez
Cindy Nu–ez
Jorge Nu–ez
Ashley Rodriguez
Marco Antonio de la Cruz
Kassandra Martell
Ana Pajuelo
Jasmine Rivas
Steven Rivas
Yohanny Rosario
Frankie Trujillo
Leslie Valladares
Lisette Veliz-Martell
Lucia Veliz

St. Mary, Denville
Alicia Robertson

St. Nicholas, Passaic
Emily M. Flores
Jorge Garcia
Jashuel Garcia
Janette Robinson
Giselle Vasquez

St. Simon the Apostle, Green Pond
Alea Bauer
Sarah Silverman

St. Virgil, Morris Plains
Tracy Blum
Petra Peters



+++ © Copyright © 2014 Diocese of Paterson +++
777 Valley Road, Clifton, New Jersey 07013
(973) 777-8818

Web Design by Information Networking Technologies, LLC  

Execution Time: 16ms